Am I lucky enough to eat fruits of my (misdirected) labour?


I have known since eternity, I am not certainly a person who can nourish a plant and watch it grow patiently, however much I want. I basically add water, add manure, give shade and fan the seed for a day. Next day I see sprouts. Hey! I run  excitedly to people around me, who look at me back coolly, ‘What?’ I then jump up and down to make them see my new soon-to-be tree. They see disinterested (every crowd behaves eerily the same). I am a little hurt (0k… maybe a little more). Can’t they people see?! It’s a brand new tree! I make a resolve. Not to talk to those people again. They will see the seedling grow into a big, bad tree. And when I’ll be basking in the glory (and shade) of that tree, they will feel jealous they didn’t listen.

I come back to my seed. Oh no! I forgot the water. I run and get the water, the food… but wait shade is not that important. First let me update an FB status how my plant is growing. After a few days of work, I grow restless. Can’t this plant grow faster? But no, this takes time, I reason. But manure is needed now. Which particular brand should I use? And the quantity? I refer to net, experienced people…. whichever source of information I get my hands on. And it mostly is Wikipedia. Now everyone knows how evil that site is. It is a jumbled forest. No one knows why did they enter the forest in the first place. I somehow start discovering why Big Bang is rejected by some cosmologists. In the end, I am tired. And I go to bed. My tree is hungry. There is a guilt. But I’ll make up for it the next day.

The tree, it didn’t grow compared to last night! The food supply soon dries up. Just before the first leaf shoots, I abandon the plant. I come and visit that unfortunate thing every few days filled with remorse. But there is no action. And as a result, no reaction that I can see. If a passing appreciates, ‘this is a good plant’, I’ll start watering it proudly. But the utter neglect will continue from next day. The plant will wither and die. It could have given me fruits. I could even have made a tree house in it.

This is the pattern of every single activity that I take up. And this will not be the case of this blog, I pledge. And the first step in this regard is to write titles  for new posts in the end. 90% of the time, I delete all my posts because they after a while don’t match the title that I started with. I now have realised that this is not an essay competition. This is my blog and posts can be changed whenever I like. A catchy title can be made up any time. First there should be content for it. So, here I start with my first post of this new year with a negative baggage off my head!

Published in: on 1 Jan '11 at 3 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inchunksandbits.wordpress.com/2011/01/01/am-i-lucky-enough-to-eat-fruits-of-my-misdirected-labour/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. that was amazing..i mean as you chose to compare a tree with everything else and that too brilliantly….i have seen thousands of similies of something with a tree, seed or something lyk dat. but let me tel you this one was rare………….simply out of world…theeee amazingg :)

  2. that was amazing..i mean as you chose to compare a tree with everything else and that too brilliantly….i have seen thousands of similies of something with a tree, seed or something lyk dat. but let me tel you this one was rare………….simply out of world…theeee amazingg :)


Open for suggestions... :)

